Building & Safety

Welcome to the Building Safety Program

101 West Cherry Avenue 

Hours: Monday thru Friday 7:00am-4:00pm

The Building Safety Program provides assistance to residents and developers in all areas of building construction. We provide technical code assistance and review of all building, plumbing, electrical, mechanical, fuel gas, energy and accessibility requirements for construction projects city wide.

Building Official:
Amy Palmer, apalmer@flagstaffaz.gov
Phone: 928-213-2620
Fax: 928-226-0985

Plan Review:                                                                                   Douglas Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov 

Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection:                                                                      Nicholas Blain, 928-213-2624, nblain@flagstaffaz.gov 

Dave Clark, 928-213-2629, dclark@flagstaffaz.gov 

Jim Cooper, 928-213-2627, jcooper@flagstaffaz.gov 

Joshua Neihardt, 928-213-2621, jneihardt@flagstaffaz.gov

Bob Sorenson, 928-213-2625, rsorenson@flagstaffaz.gov 

Richard Stanionis, 928-213-2622, rstanionis@flagstaffaz.gov

Ray Theriault, 928-213-2623, rtheriault@flagstaffaz.gov

Record Request:                                                                            To request records for a specific property contact Susan Alden, 928-213-2066, salden@flagstaffaz.gov

To request copies of current building permits, certificate of occupancy, zoning or planning questions, or to inquire if a property has applied for a permit, contact Tammy Bishop, 928-213-2611, tbishop@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Inspection, Complaints or Building without a Permit:
Bill Hastings, whastings@flagstaffaz.gov
Building Inspection Manager
Phone: 928-213-2628

Inspection Request Line:
Dial 928-779-7631 and follow the prompts. Monday - Friday until 3:00pm to schedule inspections for the following day. Inspections called in by 3:00pm on Friday will be scheduled for the following Monday. Only emergency inspections are performed on observed Holidays.

Plan Reviewer of the Day:                                                             Monday - 7:00am-4:00pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov

Tuesday - 7:00am-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair, 928-213-2626,  vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Wednesday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov 12:30pm-4:00pm Victoria St. Clair 928-213-2626, vstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Thursday - 7:00am-12:30pm Doug Joseph, 928-213-2636, djoseph@flagstaffaz.gov 12:30pm-4:00pm Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Friday - 7:00am-4:00pm Patrick St. Clair, 928-213-2646, pstclair@flagstaffaz.gov

Building Codes:
The Flagstaff City Council has adopted the following building codes with amendments:
2012 International Building Code
2012 International Plumbing Code
2012 International Fuel Gas Code
2012 International Existing Building Code
2011 National Electrical Code
1997 Uniform Code for the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings


2012 International Residential Code
2012 International Mechanical Code
2009 International Energy Conservation Code
1997 Uniform Administrative Code
1997 Uniform House Code
2009 ICC A117-1 Accessible & Usable Buildings